Continental Drift (Ma Jolie)

You are on the front porch,
facing the pond.
I am in the unheated attic,
beaneath the snow-covered roof.

When I was a boy,
I read about the lost colony,
vanished without a trace
save one clue carved in an old oak.

You tell me you like it
when I write to you in French,
language of priests and fur traders,
voyageurs who plied the frigid lakes
and paddled ashore on cobbled beaches
between pine-topped sandstone cliffs.

An eagle soars above a cliff
on sun-warmed air pushed up by winds
that gather on the plains
and cross the wave-rilled fetch.

I grew up in the South, your people,
who use the noun fetch, a span over water
crossed by winds that generate waves,
as a transitive verb, to fetch a pail of water.

There is a third sense, fetching, an adjective,
meaning charming, captivating, the effect
you have on me, ma jolie.

About Ray Sharp

Father, poet, triathlete, local public health planner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Continental Drift (Ma Jolie)

  1. Whimsy Mimsy says:

    Oooohhh…very lovely! Quite the romantic, Mr. Bard! I’d say it in French, I’m sure it sounds better that way, but alas, all I hear are the pretty sounds, lacking all meaning…

  2. brian miller says:

    smiles…really nice close on this…have used fetching in that way as well…funny, i grew up in Roanoke, so the colony has a personal interest to me…croatoan…i liked the inclusion of this…made for a cool progression…

  3. ManicDdaily says:

    This is just lovely – such wonderful connections so beautifully realized through the syntax and imagery. Super well done, thanks for participating in the prompt. k.

  4. I like the different take on the word “fetch”, ending with that sweet verse ~

    Enjoyed the story & I always like to listen to French, though I don’t understand it, smiles ~

  5. Mary says:

    I love the story in this, the way you wrote it, and the touch of French

  6. Your words have such an inspiring quality– always make me want to write more. ~peace, Jason

  7. claudia says:

    smiles..i like where you take this with the very personal close – also love how you start with describing the places… really cool feel to it ray

  8. Maggie Grace says:

    What a nice read…flowing all the way to the South and to France. Merci!

  9. othermary says:

    Oh, this is lovely – fetching even. And the title is perfect.

Leave a Reply

