M-26, West Houghton, 6 A.M.

The curve of the road
is a muscular thing, a snake
or the neck of a cob or pen.

You feel it tug at you
between the cinder block shell
of a future auto parts store

rising on the foggy left
and the smiling face
on the podiatrist’s billboard

on the right on the inside
of that muscular curve
you bend around

like a tight-strung bow
or an atlatl in mid fling.

About Ray Sharp

Father, poet, triathlete, local public health planner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to M-26, West Houghton, 6 A.M.

  1. Marya says:

    This is really full of such palpable imagery, Ray!

  2. brian miller says:

    atlatl…that is a new one on me..def interesting imagery..a future auto parts store eh? smiles.

  3. grapeling says:

    immediate, present, vivid. nice write, Ray ~ M

  4. Really enjoyed the sensory detail you gave us in this. It drew me right into the scene.

  5. I love following your blog not just for your wonderful words, but also for the quotes and photos you select. Gorgeous! Keep up the great site. —Jadi

  6. I am not a runner, Ray – Hell, I’m barely a walker… LOL…. BUT – this poem speaks to the joy of the road for me,. I used to take a country highway about half the way between my college and home when I was just a teenager. The roll of the road the feeling of snaky muscles controlled my breathing and like this poem, gave me unbounded energy in m y heart.

Leave a Reply

