In the Fog

I woke in the misty misty sky.
Two veiled hills, you and I,
fog-vanished.
                        Am I beyond
the edge of all that was near?
Am I nowhere, can you still hear
me
                 under the pond
surface planished?

About Ray Sharp

Father, poet, triathlete, local public health planner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to In the Fog

  1. I love that: “two veiled hills.” And oh, the agony of rhetoric. Thank you.

  2. Grace says:

    Love the foggy thoughts under the misty misty sky ~ The complexities of a relationship ~

  3. says a lot in a few words… the use of metaphor is awesome

  4. Skillful use of metaphor – planished beneath the pond – Wow – solid!

  5. Tony Maude says:

    I don’t know if it was what you intended, but this spoke to me of loss and separation, grief and regret – with a side order of longing.

  6. Laurie Kolp says:

    Oh, this is a wonderful poem, Ray. I feel sadness here, too.

  7. Pamela says:

    Concise. I agree with Gay, excellent use of metaphor.

    Pamela

  8. ayala says:

    Beautiful. I feel the longing in this, love this poem.

  9. Nice rhythm and rhyme. Made me get my dictionary out – Planished (great word!). Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

