Animal, Vegetable

Thoughts of you stalk me
from the tall grass of my dark mind.

I spy your silhouette on moonbright nights
and glimpse your eyes flashing green
which is not their daytime color.

Sometimes I reach for you
unblossomed bud of phantom lustflower.

About Ray Sharp

Father, poet, triathlete, local public health planner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Animal, Vegetable

  1. annotating60 says:

    I loved your opening stanza the most. It’s almost a poem by itself. Great read.>KB

  2. shanyns says:

    Very cool, the opening stanza reminded me of the movie: The Ghost & The Darkness

  3. Woah–huge fan of that second stanza. Especially the line “which is not their daytime color.” Not quite sure why it hit me so hard, but I appreciate it regardless.

Leave a Reply

