Still Valid

A poem from 3 years ago, one of hundreds I have forgotten. Just a novelty item, not destined for publication.

Scientific American

God made me a white male atheist,
but Nixon made me a Democrat.

Ellis Island gave me a generic family name
fit for a member of a lost tribe.

I became a runner vegetarian poet
of my own free will.

I believe that my quarks atoms molecules
are subject to the same laws

As yours and that when I die all will fade
to black or white but they say

The observer can never report back
from inside the black hole.

They also say that we share 99 percent
of the DNA of a chimpanzee

But I draw the line well this side
of the stink bug and the sea slug.

About Ray Sharp

Father, poet, triathlete, local public health planner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

