March Night

I came to bed thinking of a girl
with hair of September wheatgrass.

The moon watched me there, diaphanous,
concave. I poked it with my finger

and popped it in my right eye
so I could see the plain truth,

the shapes of things from all their sides.
I saw right through the world

and the moonlight bounced back to me
on a river that smelled sweet and rank

that was the girl, reflexion of my bright desire.

 

About Ray Sharp

Father, poet, triathlete, local public health planner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

