Moonlight Serenade

A repeat

The Bard of Liminga

          Beauty makes me sad
          Makes me grieve
          I see what I must leave

                    From “At Cross Purposes”
                    By Samuel Menashe

What plates a lustrous thing
will tarnish.

You were the silver moon,
light of my night,
beautiful and remote,
the proof of those landings
catalogued and stored in a drawer
like baby teeth.

I loved you bush-naked
beneath your jersey,
the way we rocked,
slap of skin, song
of hips.

Your tongue is artful
in teasing
and sharp enough to cut me
to ribbons.

Sometimes you wear your ego
like a strap-on.
There were days I felt
well-fucked.

Now wild geese gather under a blue moon
in their compulsion
to fly south.

I don’t believe there is a god
for me.

Small comfort — after death
there is only death.

View original post

About Ray Sharp

Father, poet, triathlete, local public health planner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moonlight Serenade

  1. Scottish Author and Poet Kirsty Grant says:

    Intense, beautiful. Great poem.

Leave a Reply

