Every Body Persists in Its State of Being

Talking to Krista Tippett about Rilke, Buddhism, and the death of her husband,
Joanna Macy said we become what we love and so her husband is spread throughout
the world he loved…  There’s a song that wants to be sung through us, we’ve just
got to be available, there’s no excuse for not being present, for not loving the world.

I feel like everything I love dies, like I am a ghost walking through this beautiful world
unable to speak or even feel the breeze on my raw skin. I only know it by the rustling leaves
and the sway and dip of slender willows and the way it whistles through my empty ribs.
I should know – Newton’s Third Law – whatever you touch touches you equally

But I am stuck in sadness – First Law – on a path of uniform motion unable to move
or be moved in a new direction, Corpus omne perseverare in statu suo, unable
to learn to open my body to the song that is the world and let it sing through me.

About Ray Sharp

Father, poet, triathlete, local public health planner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

