Edna

Edna faced me

across the board
in the third round
of the Scrabble tournament
after two easy wins
by each of us
against college kids.

Edna must be about 80.
She told me she plays
every day
by herself
since her partner passed away.
This game will not be

so easy.
I had the Q
with an open U to play on
for a double letter double word score
but I lacked a consonant
a T for QUIT or QUIET or QUITE or QUOTE

a D for QUID or a P for QUIP.
So I played QUOI
like je ne sais quoi
a certain I-don’t-know-what quality
and said to Edna
it’s a common foreign term

like vis-à-vis
which I played
in the last round
so I think
it will be
in the Scrabble Dictionary

but if you want to challenge
go right ahead.
I took my 46 points
and won the game
and have worried
about it ever since

but I don’t think Edna has.

About Ray Sharp

Father, poet, triathlete, local public health planner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Edna

  1. pixieannie says:

    This is superb.

Leave a Reply

