Couplets, Uncoupled

Alone, and a little lonely, but not really
either, the dogs are here, Clover and Sisken.

I shaved, for no one, for myself, it feels
clean and smooth as I stroke my face.

Out to the porch in down booties, I look south
and see Orion in the moonless, cloudless sky.

Striking matches in the dark, they remind me
of a woman with red hair and blue eyes, I am

addicted to the smell of sulfur and the clarity
of the dark and the quiet and the solitude.

About Ray Sharp

Father, poet, triathlete, local public health planner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Couplets, Uncoupled

  1. You are, no doubt, addicted.
    Love this poem. J

  2. Pingback: This is where my poems mostly live

  3. kvennarad says:

    I like this poem very much.

    That thing with your face – I’m the same about my legs. Just saying.

  4. pixieannie says:

    I think this just wrapped me in its warm embrace…sigh.

Leave a Reply

