My Next Book

I need to go through the hard labor of birthing my next book. For years I have had a provisional title in mind, a placeholder, an organizing principle, “Love and Other Calamities.”

Yesterday on a long walk, a new title came to me, one that might jolt me into action. I am trying it on for size.

Such a Beautiful Thud

 

And somebody said, “Hey man, did you see that? His body hit the street with such a beautiful thud”
I wonder what the dude was sayin’, or was he just lost in the flood?
Hey man, did you see that, those poor cats are sure messed up
I wonder what they were gettin’ into, or were they just lost in the flood?

— “Lost in the Flood” lyrics by Bruce Springsteen
from “Greetings from Asbury Park, NJ” (1973)

About Ray Sharp

Father, poet, triathlete, local public health planner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

