Clotted Cream

My day like clotted cream
pulled from the fuggy hole,
so much milk-fat risen
to the top of my mind,
crusted, clouty enough
for any Jenny to entice
her Blunderbore, and here
I stand, no giant I, mere
man in all the usual ways
and arrangements, sadly.

*   *   *
“Its orient tinge, like spring-time morn,
Or baby-buttercups newly-born;
Its balmy perfume, delicate pulp,
One longs to swallow it all at a gulp,
Sure man had ne’er such gifts or theme
As your melt-in-mouthy Devonshire cream.”

“An eulogy on a can of cream sent from a lady in Exeter”. (extract)

—William Barry Peacock, Manchester, 1853

Clotted_cream_tin

About Ray Sharp

Father, poet, triathlete, local public health planner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clotted Cream

  1. Erica Herd says:

    What does clotted cream taste like? It conjures up cream and blood clots when I hear the two words together.

    • Ray Sharp says:

      I don’t know, I just liked the sound of it, I’m told it’s very thick with a toasted, nutty flavor, doesn’t sour as quickly as regular milk-fat. I just liked the words clout (variation of clot) and fuggy hole, which sounds rather a lot like anal sex (sorry!) but is actually slang for some kind of root cellar or underground cool storage area in southern England.

Leave a Reply

